Highlights from dOCUMENTA(13). Theaster Gates

dOCUMENTA(13), Research

As dOCUMENTA(13) is about to finish I wanted to do a few posts about my highlights of the event. I spent a week there and it was really inspirational to see so much strong work in one place. As my friend Ania Dabrowska says you have to be a bit of an ArtRobocop to see all the stuff, doing a series of 10hr days at gallery pace but it was a fantastic experience. The notes that I will post here are really the starting point for wider research for me and I feel I have seen stuff that will truly influence my approach to art creation and indeed exhibition installation over the next year or so.
The first piece is by Theaster Gates, ’12 Ballads For Huguenot House’ . It had the feel of a Mike Nelson installation but with an added dimension of lived performative action that pervaded the walls. The craft, an aesthetic of ‘dereliction’ gave the space a simple make-do-and-mend ethos. Or rather a sense of cradle-to-cradle recycling of material objects. It fet like a utopian living space and actually in this context was really inspirational. Though we were seeing the conclusion to a process of performance I particularly liked the combination of film projected onto really textured walls.

http://theastergates.com/section/232115_12_Ballads_For_Huguenot_House.html

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

